Allison Miller’s Boom Tic Boom

View Calendar
Performing "In Our Veins: Rivers and Social Change"
Allison Miller’s Boom Tic Boom
  • Myra Melford – piano
  • Jenny Scheinman – violin
  • Ben Goldberg – clarinet
  • Kirk Knuffke – cornet
  • Todd Sickafoose –  bass
  • Allison Miller – drums + compositions
  • Claudia Rahardjanoto – tap dance
Please join us for the Philadelphia premiere of In Our Veins: Rivers and Social Change, the new multimedia work by drummer and composer Allison Miller, teaming her singular ensemble Boom Tic Boom with acclaimed tap dancer Claudia Rahardjanoto.
Over the past ten years, Allison Miller’s Boom Tic Boom has established itself as one of the most consistently inventive and hardest working bands in modern jazz. Miller’s music for the sextet makes surprising and inventive use of the full palette of its unique instrumentation, simultaneously challenging and infectious, witty and emotional, joyous and richly layered, drawing on a range of inspirations embracing modern jazz, indie rock, and globe-spanning rhythmic traditions. Miller has been named one of the “Top 20 Jazz Drummers” in Downbeat, and her composition “Otis Was a Polar Bear” was on NPR’s list of “The 200 Greatest Songs by 21st Century Women.”

“Boom Tic Boom has a razor-sharp precision that recalls classic drummer-led ensembles of 50 years ago—the music of Art Blakey, Art Taylor and Max Roach come to mind—but Ms. Miller’s band works from a diverse sonic palette that is unmistakably contemporary.”
The Wall Street Journal

This performance will add tap dancer Claudia Rahardjanoto to the band for the Philadelphia premiere of Miller’s new work, In Our Veins: Rivers and Social Change. Rivers are the lifelines of America, according to Miller, and this multimedia suite centers around five American rivers—the Susquehanna, Delaware, James, Hudson, and Schuylkill—and the social and environmental changes they inspired in the 19th and 20th century.
Check out the video below in which Allison Miller describes the process of Boom Tic Boom’s latest album, Glitter Wolf, released in 2019.
Scroll to top